Bing VS Google

BING VS GOOGLE

Navigation

Since there is no index for the internet, people rely on search engines to find websites, and sometimes, specific pages. When I used Bing and Google to find the official website for Apple, the website you are on right now, and Nintendo, the top result was as expected for Apple, with both Bing and Google having the top result right. When I searched for this website, Bing did not even list it on the first page, while Google listed it third. When I searched for Nintendo, both were the first result.

WINNER: Google

Autocorrect

While the actual search results are important, how long it takes for you to get there is important too. Things such as Autocorrect and Google Instant are deigned to make your search quicker and easier. I found that Google Instant helps a lot whenever I search, but Bing was sometimes a bit hasty when autocorrecting. Although it did get it right when searching the terms above, there were some others that it did wrong. When I searched “Barack Obama YouTube channel”, Bing automatically included results for “barack obama youtube tv”.

WINNER: Google

Specific Pages on Large Sites

One of the most used searches involves looking for a particular page on a website you already know. For example, many fans of Richmond FC (in Australia, they are an AFL team), would visit their website for match times. Google found this straight away, and so did Bing.

WINNER: Draw

Product Searches

Searching for specific products can sometimes be quite annoying. In my test, both Bing and Google did a good job. Google did better in the case of Apple products, such as “iPad models” and “iPhone 4S specs”. Bing did well as well.

WINNER: Draw

Bias

When I searched for “the best smartphone”, the results pointed the PCWorld.com and Cnet.com. This shows no bias.

WINNER: Draw

Spam

Both Google and Bing deal with spam very well, but Bing has ads on the right side of the search results, which are usually mostly spam.

WINNER: Google

Now that I have done my tests, I have come to a conclusion. Bing did not win any categories, and only racked up points in the drawn categories. Google wonthree categories. Some people might say Bing is better, but who is going to “bing it”? It is not very catchy, while “google it” just rolls off the tongue. This was a pretty obvious post, and most of us (including me) knew who was going to win at the start. I will reveal the winner.

WINNER: GOOGLE

8 thoughts on “Bing VS Google

  1. It’s not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am visiting this website dailly and take nice information from here all the time.

  2. It’s hard to find experienced people about this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  3. I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers but this
    piece of writing is truly a good piece of writing, keep it up.

  4. excellent put up, very informative. I ponder why the
    other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should proceed your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  5. I used to be suggested this web site via my cousin. I’m not sure whether this publish is written by him as no one else know such designated about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

